CHAPTER VI: THE BATTALION PREPARES FOR THE SECOND TOUR



The 6RAR Intelligence Officer (Capt MF Fairhead) reading the Presidential Unit Citation to the parade on 18 August 1968.



The Prime Minister presenting the Presidential Unit Citation to OC D Company, Maj IT Stewart.

Medals, awarded for their courageous efforts on 17 February 1967 during Operation Bribie.

Also in May 1968, the President of the United States (LB Johnson), presented the Australian Prime Minister (JG Gorton) with the Presidential Unit Citation and Streamer for D Company's action at the Battle of Long Tan (see End Note 2 for the text of the Citation). On 18 August 1968, Prime Minister Gorton presented the Citation and the Streamer at a Parade at Lavarack Barracks.

After the Presidential Unit Citation was given to OC D Company, he in turn returned it to the IO who under strict instructions from the Commanding Officer (Lt Col DM Butler) secured the Citation in his security safe at Battalion Headquarters. This was necessary because the CO remembered that when 3RAR was presented with its Citation for the Battle of Kapyong, the original was pilfered before it even got to the Officers' Mess!

Following the ceremonial activities, the Battalion then went into a rigorous training programme with the companies living in the field for every two weeks out of three. Besides tactical training at Section, Platoon and Company levels, much emphasis was given to honing shooting skills on all weapons.



18 August 1968. The Prime Minister John Gorton attaches the Long Tan Streamer to the Regimental Colour held by Sgt S Smerdon. The other soldiers pictured are left Cpl G Ballinger and right, Cpl GM Peters.



18 August 1968. The Prime Minister and Harry Smith (in Commando uniform) at the reception in the Soldiers Mess after the parade.



18 August 1968. After the Parade D Company veterans meet in a Townsville Motel with Little Pattie and Col Joye. Standing L-R: Ross McDonald (10Pl), Anon, Robin Rencher (CHQ), Peter Doyle (10Pl), Phil Dixon (10Pl). Sitting L-R: Dave Sabben (10Pl), Ian Campbell (10 Pl), Little Pattie, Col Joye.